Group Members

Raja Sekhar Muddam

Raja Sekhar Muddam completed his B. Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University Anantapur, India in 2017. He completed his M. Tech in Nanoscience and Technology from IIT Patna, India in 2020. Then he joined as a PhD student at the Energy Harvesting Research Group, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of St. Andrews, Scotland, in August 2022. Current currently Raja is working on the mechanical and ferroelectric properties of halide perovskites.  

Email: [email protected] 

Aveena Abee Varghese

Aveena Abee Varghese completed her B.Sc in Physics from Nirmala College (MG University, Kottayam) and her MSc in Physics from UC College (MG University, Kottayam). Aveena developed a strong passion towards science experiments as well as investigatory projects during her bachelor’s as well as master’s degrees from India. She joined the Energy Harvesting Research Group as a PhD student in October 2021. Her research focus is on maximising the efficiency of halide perovskite indoor photovoltaics by interface engineering 

Email: [email protected] 

Shaoyang Wang 

Shaoyang Wang obtained his bachelor‘s degree from the Beijing University of Chemical Technology (BUCT) in China and his master‘s degree in materials science from the University College London (UCL), UK. Shaoyang joined the Energy Harvesting Research Group in November 2020 as a PhD student. Shaoyang’s research is focused on the application of perovskite solar cells for powering indoor Internet of Things (IoT) components. The topic is mainly related to tuning the bandgap of perovskite materials to fit indoor light spectra, as well as enhancing the efficiency and stability of the photovoltaics to fabricate perovskite solar cells with better performance under indoor light conditions 

Email: [email protected]

Nirmal Prashanth Maria Joseph Ra

Nirmal Prashanth Maria Joseph Raj joined the Energy Harvesting Group as a Research Fellow in April 2022. He is a Materials Researcher with working experience in the synthesis of semiconductors, perovskites, polymers, 2D materials, and composite films for multifunctional applications ranging from, Photocatalysts, Piezoelectric energy conversion, Triboelectric energy conversion, Piezocatalysts and semiconductor devices. He completed his PhD from the Jeju National University in 2021 and his PhD thesis was titled ‘Bismuth based Ferroelectrics for Energy Conversion and Sensor Applications’. His research area focused on developing inorganic perovskites, semiconductors, and composites and analysing their structural, and electrical properties along with the fabrication of energy-converting nanogenerator devices and applying them for self-powered sensor applications.  


SidharthReghunathan is a graduate of The Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Thiruvananthapuram (IISER TVM), India, where he completed a dual degree in Physics and Mathematics. His master’s thesis focused on approaches for improving efficiency in nextgeneration perovskite solar cells. Currently, Sidharth is participating in a global Ph.D. program between the University of St Andrews (EHRG, School of Physics and Astronomy) and Bar-Ilan University, Israel (under the combined supervision of Professor David Cahen and Dr Hannah-Noa Barad and Dr Lethy Krishnan Jagadamma) where he is working on chalcogenide-based absorbers for photovoltaic applications and exploring the use of halide perovskite phases for powering the IoT applications. In addition to his academic and research pursuits, Sidharth is passionate about electronics and has experience with building custom experimental setups and automation using LabVIEW, C++, and .NET programming, as well as embedded programming. 

Past Members

  • Dr Paheli Ghosh, Research Fellow (2020-2022) 
  • Alasdair Bulloch, Undergraduate project student (2020-2021) 
  • Sam Millar, Undergraduate project student (2021-2022) 
  • Hollie Feehan, Undergraduate project student (2021-2022) 
  • Jack Newman, Undergraduate Project student (2021-2022) 
  • Shreyas Jekki Venkateshwarulu, Summer student, Physics Trust funded, 2022